A site dedicated to Farriers

Forge & Farrier, For Farriers

WCF Presentations 23rd June 2016


The Master of the Worshipful Company of Farriers, Mr Guy Hurst, and Mr Anthony Charlwood, the Chairman of the Farriers Registration Council, presided at a Presentation Ceremony at The Honourable Artillery Company, London on Thursday 23rd June 2016.

The Master addressed the assembly and presented the Company’s highest qualification, the Fellowship, to Mr Simon Moore and Mr Mark Trussler.

The Master then presented the Associateship to eleven recipients, including five international candidates.

The Master then presented the Diploma to thirty-seven candidates, one of whom had achieved Honours and one who had achieved Distinction. The David Llewellyn Prize for the best written paper and the Mike Seckington Prize for the best practical shoeing went to Mr Samuel Ryan Johnson DipWCF. The examinations for the Company’s Diploma took place in May at Hereford & Ludlow College, Warwickshire College, Myerscough College and at the College of Agriculture Food & Rural Enterprise at Enniskillen. Five of the recipients had qualified for the Diploma by passing the Army Intermediate Military Farrier Certificate, and one through having held the American Farrier Association’s Certified Journeyman Farrier qualification for over 2 years.

The Chairman of the Farriers Registration Council also addressed the assembly, and Christopher Linssner, President of the British Farriers and Blacksmiths Association addressed the assembly and awarded prizes and certificates for the best portfolios and best forging skills.

Representatives from the Court of the Worshipful Company of Farriers, the Farriers Registration Council, the Colleges, and the Company’s Examinations Board were also present.

A Church Service, led by The Reverend Canon Dr Flora Winfield, was held in Wesley’s Chapel immediately prior to the Presentation Ceremony. The recipients were supported by their Approved Training Farriers, together with their families and friends. Altogether, some 218 persons attended the event.

Mrs V A Ifould